Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-21-2022, 06:56 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default 2008 170 Popular Electrical Mods/Upgrades

Greetings –

First “real” posting about our van. It is a 2008 Roadtrek 170 Popular, on a 2008 Chevy chassis. Both were coincidentally produced in Canada. Having come from a sailing/cruising life, small spaces and preparing to live “off-grid” are not new. I am an engineer, inveterate tinkerer, and often willing to; “not leave well enough alone.”
The van (yet un-named) has few, if any, upgrades from the original. There is a black tank dump port on the passenger’s side which we understand was a mod, and some new carpet and cushions. The starting battery is brand new, the previous one having failed on our second night aboard during our delivery trip from the NE to our home in the Florida panhandle.

When the starting battery failed, I was disappointed that we couldn’t just turn a switch (1-2-Both) to get going. The small capacity of the House Bank was also surprising. A third item of surprise, the only on/off for the propane was just a manual valve on the tank. For over 30 years of cruising and living aboard, we had become accustomed to using a 12V solenoid routinely and the on-deck shut-off only for longer term. We were pleased with the convenience of that configuration. It should be easily adaptable to this van. These mods will be definite upgrades in the program, and early on.

With a draft “to do list,” I mapped out a set of improvements and additions. Rather than tackle them all at once, or in a haphazard fashion, I set them out in a “phased” approach. The picture might help explain, save me a bit of typing, and you a bit of reading.