Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-05-2013, 03:53 PM   #1

Default Adding rear storage

Hi guys!

I'm a newbie to the site and the world of rv'ing. I bought a '94 Coach House a few months ago. I really am impressed with the amount of storage this thing has but I could always use more. So I was thinking about mounting something on the spare tire support arms.

The area to the right of the spare tire seems ideal for mounting a gas can carrier but I was thinking about going with something more functional. Some sort of interchangeable mounting system that I could use to carry different items (cargo box, gas can, grill or even mini-bike). Has anyone built something similar to what I'm thinking? Also anyone have an idea of the weight load that the support arm could hold. I'm hoping that it could handle around 150 lbs. in addition to the tire.
maczero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 04:30 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Default Re: Adding rear storage

I wonder about adding a hitch receiver, then mounting a cargo container onto that. A hitch receiver would give you 200-500 (rating will depend on how it is installed) pounds of usable weight, and with an enclosed cargo carrier, a good amount of volume that is lockable.
mlts22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 04:44 PM   #3
Platinum Member

There have been more than a few folks report sagging hinges on the Dodges due to the tire weight, so I think I would be hesitant to add much weight to the door. Most folks use hitch carriers if they need more space, but also be aware they can affect the handling, especially on the short wheelbase Dodges.
booster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 05:45 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by booster