Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-25-2010, 11:17 PM   #1

Default Roadtrek 190 Popular 2002 fridge

The freezer gets really cold but the cabinet for regular food stays warm. The unit is a Dometic 2333 under cabinet model. I cleaned grass and nuts out of lower vent. The outside wall between lower & upper vents gets hot and even the inside counter top gets warm near the wall above the fridge. I am no mechanic but maybe can be armed with some information from you before I take it in for repair. Thanks.
Claudette
claudette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 03:13 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Default Re: Roadtrek 190 Popular 2002 fridge

Happen suddenly, or got worse over time? Were you parked on the level?
2011 Malibu LT - wonderful winter wheels
Johnny R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 10:42 AM   #3
Platinum Member

Venting is very important. Could the top vent be blocked?

Here's some info from Dometic:

Quote:
Refrigerator Does Not Cool Properly
A. Burner jet clogged. Clean. (See section Maintenance & Service, Item 3. Periodic Maintenance, Paragraph D. Item 1-14).
B. Check level of refrigerator.
C. Venting problem.
D. Heavy frost buildup on evaporator fins. Defrost
E. Flue baffle not inserted properly in flue tube.
F. Improperly set thermostat. (See Operating Instructions, part Thermostat).
G. Burner dirty. Clean. (See section Maintenance & Service, Item 3. Periodic Maintenance, Paragraph D. Item 1-14).
H. LP gas pressure low at burner. Set main regulator so pressure does not drop below 11 inches of water column at pressure tap.
I. Burner not located properly under flue tube. Relocate
J. Burner damaged. Replace.
and some info from Roadtrek:

Quote:
Tips & Tricks
From Roadtrek®TM Owners

Tip #1 - Refrigerator Use & Maintenance