RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2015, 02:09 PM   #21
Site Team
 
avanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wincrasher View Post
As I said before, this is not an emergency and there is no reason to freak out.
And, as *I* said before, it is irresponsible to encourage people not to take this seriously. You have NO IDEA who is doing what with this exploit, or how it fits into a larger pattern of vulnerability. To say "the risk is small" is similar to saying not to worry about vaccinations because the risk of mumps is small.

Stop second-guessing. Get up in the morning, brush your teeth, check your oil level, and install your security patches. Welcome to the future...
__________________

__________________
Formerly: 2005 Airstream Interstate (Sprinter 2500 T1N)
Now!: 2014 Great West Vans Legend SE (Sprinter 3500 NCV3 I4)
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 02:52 PM   #22
Platinum Member
 
wincrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Greer, South Carolina
Posts: 2,611
Default

Please read the following:
FCA Recalls 1.4 Million Cars After Jeep Uconnect Hack

Not an easy task. Required a team of nerds with extensive contact and knowledge of the specific vehicle in the test.

And I'll say it again - IT DOESN'T APPLY TO THE PROMASTER VANS. We don't have the 8.4 head unit with the Wifi hotspot hardware to make it work.

Whatever the Uconnect 5 patch is, it's probably more or less regular NAV updates.

I'm not saying at all not to do your patches. Do them if you like. I'm only saying that this is not a drop everything and do patches 'cause this is an emergency. It's not.

Here is the radio we have: http://www.driveuconnect.com/system/...aster/5-0-ra2/

FWIW, I downloaded the patch for my VIN. The file is dated 6/12/2015.
__________________

__________________
2019 Winnebago Travato GL
Follow my blog: https://www.wincrasher.blogspot.com
Our Facebook group is: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ClassBCamperVans/
wincrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 06:43 PM   #23
Platinum Member
 
wincrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Greer, South Carolina
Posts: 2,611
Default

I upgraded my radio software with the patch. You just plug the thumb drive into the usb by the steering wheel and then turn the ignition to on. The radio sees it immediately and then it goes thru the install process. There really is nothing else to do. Takes about 10 minutes and then reboots. My radio had version 4.something and the new patch was version 6.
__________________
2019 Winnebago Travato GL
Follow my blog: https://www.wincrasher.blogspot.com
Our Facebook group is: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ClassBCamperVans/
wincrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 08:36 PM   #24
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wincrasher View Post
I upgraded my radio software with the patch. You just plug the thumb drive into the usb by the steering wheel and then turn the ignition to on. The radio sees it immediately and then it goes thru the install process. There really is nothing else to do. Takes about 10 minutes and then reboots. My radio had version 4.something and the new patch was version 6.
ron- iam not familiar with thumb drives. is this the one sent out by chrysler orthe one you downloaded.

i assume you download into your computer than load into a thumb drive.
gerrym51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 08:44 PM   #25
Platinum Member
 
wincrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Greer, South Carolina
Posts: 2,611
Default

Yep. I had one around the house, so I just put the files on it.
__________________
2019 Winnebago Travato GL
Follow my blog: https://www.wincrasher.blogspot.com
Our Facebook group is: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ClassBCamperVans/
wincrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 12:44 AM   #26
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wincrasher View Post
Yep. I had one around the house, so I just put the files on it.
Ron-how do you do it. i have no idea

i need steps1,2,3,4,5,
gerrym51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 01:15 AM   #27
Platinum Member
 
wincrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Greer, South Carolina
Posts: 2,611
Default

Go to the website and enter your VIN. It will then go to the following pages explaining what to do. On the last page at the bottom should be a link to the file. It's a zip file. Download that to a folder on your computer. Unzip the file (usually you just double click on the file and it will start to unzip).

Put a thumbdrive in your computer's usb drive. Make sure it is cleaned off (no other files). Then copy the update files and folders you unzipped onto the thumb drive. When it's done, eject it and take it out to the van. Put the thumbdrive in your vans USB drive. Then turn the ignition to ON. The radio should start up and you should get a message on the screen that it sees an update file. Press OK and get it started updating. At the end it will say OK and remove the thumbdrive. Turn ignition to OFF. Then on again to reboot the radio. It should start up normally and go to whatever radio station you were listening to.
__________________
2019 Winnebago Travato GL
Follow my blog: https://www.wincrasher.blogspot.com
Our Facebook group is: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ClassBCamperVans/
wincrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 01:55 AM   #28
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,050
Default

thanks ron-is there a way to now what version i already have
gerrym51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 02:09 AM   #29
Platinum Member
 
wincrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Greer, South Carolina
Posts: 2,611
Default

I don't know.
__________________
2019 Winnebago Travato GL
Follow my blog: https://www.wincrasher.blogspot.com
Our Facebook group is: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ClassBCamperVans/
wincrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 06:53 PM   #30
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Utah
Posts: 77
Default

Well... I applied the update and now I have no sound from my radio.
We do have an add-on JBL system, but it works on speaker level - and all its fuses are intact. It would be too coincidental if it failed at the moment of the upgrade.

Interestingly, the same memory stick and files were used to update another Travato, and it worked just fine on that one.

There's a call to 1-800-UConnect in my future...
__________________
James and Stef
Follow us on our blog
https://www.thefitrv.com
thefitrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 07:00 PM   #31
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 42
Default

Sorry to see that. I'm showing about 1/2 way through the install off of my flash drive. Fingers crossed.
__________________
2016 Travato 59G
replaced 2015 Travato (1st gen)
K1200LTE
O'Fallon, MO
RTVATO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 07:03 PM   #32
Platinum Member
 
wincrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Greer, South Carolina
Posts: 2,611
Default

I'm pretty sure you need to refresh the files before you apply it to a new radio. It writes some things to the USB stick, so that may bork the process.
__________________
2019 Winnebago Travato GL
Follow my blog: https://www.wincrasher.blogspot.com
Our Facebook group is: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ClassBCamperVans/
wincrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 07:09 PM   #33
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Utah
Posts: 77
Default

Well, ours was the first install from the stick- and it failed (but I hadn't realized it yet).
The second Travato was the one that worked.
The guys who did the install are telling me I need to pull the radio to verify that UConnect still operates the remote turn-on after the update.
Joy...
__________________
James and Stef
Follow us on our blog
https://www.thefitrv.com
thefitrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 08:06 PM   #34
Platinum Member
 
Davydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5,096
Default

It is probably something very simple to fix that might give you a "Duh" feeling afterwards. Somehow this weekend I zoomed in my iPhone to read a message and the zoom stuck in place everywhere to the point turning on the iPhone would only show the 5 button on the sign in keypad. 5 was not a number I used but in trying to scroll it would be punched. So I could not sign back on. I went to the Apple store this morning and did not even get to the Genius bar. The greeter did a three finger tap to restore my normal view. "Duh!"
__________________
Davydd
2015 Advanced RV Ocean One Mercedes Benz Sprinter
Previous Class Bs:
2011 Great West Van Legend Sprinter
2005 Pleasure-way Plateau TS Sprinter
Davydd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 03:33 AM   #35
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 42
Default

Given the issues I was having with the Tom Tom nav system anyway I figured I'd go ahead with the update rather than waiting for a trip to the Promaster dealer. Took about 5 tries and two different browsers to get the files from Uconnect downloaded and installed on my flash drive. Turned the key on and inserted the drive in the usb port next to the steering column and watched the radio screen go through it's sequences finding the files and starting the update. Nice screen telling me that it could take 30 minutes with a progress bar chug chuging along pretending there is something good happening. In about 20 minutes the screen showed a big red X, and a #114 error message. After a couple of more tries it is clear that the status is FUBAR. No radio/nav/backup camera - nothing. I called the Promaster dealer and scheduled an appointment for next Tuesday morning. (I asked that he have a replacement radio on hand since that seems to be the only fix noted on the Promaster forums. Any bets that they will do that vs having to make a second trip?) Film at 11:00, as they say.
__________________
2016 Travato 59G
replaced 2015 Travato (1st gen)
K1200LTE
O'Fallon, MO
RTVATO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 03:56 PM   #36
Platinum Member
 
wincrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Greer, South Carolina
Posts: 2,611
Default

Wow. So sorry to hear that. Mine went smooth as silk. I think it only took 10 minutes - I let it run while I did other things.
__________________
2019 Winnebago Travato GL
Follow my blog: https://www.wincrasher.blogspot.com
Our Facebook group is: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ClassBCamperVans/
wincrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 05:28 PM   #37
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Ca
Posts: 36
Default

Concerning the Travato Nav system, is there a way to defeat the Tom Tom setting of not being able to enter info in the Nav while in motion? Makes it it pain that passenger cannot enter data....haven been able to find any, short of getting a Garmin....
JKatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 05:29 PM   #38
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Utah
Posts: 77
Default

I tried a hack (changing the version number in the associated files), but it didn't work. Haven't heard back from FCA customer support, and their 800 numbers are all either busy or "unable to complete call".

Looks like I'll be headed to my local dealer...
__________________
James and Stef
Follow us on our blog
https://www.thefitrv.com
thefitrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 05:51 PM   #39
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 9,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thefitrv View Post
I tried a hack (changing the version number in the associated files), but it didn't work. Haven't heard back from FCA customer support, and their 800 numbers are all either busy or "unable to complete call".

Looks like I'll be headed to my local dealer...
With all the recent recall turmoil with them, they are probably getting a hefty number of calls. Huge penalties, buybacks, pay for others to fix--that is a big time slap on them.
booster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 06:35 PM   #40
Platinum Member
 
Davydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5,096
Default

Our built in Pioneer navigation unit also doesn't let us enter new routes while driving. I wonder if this is becoming the norm for built in units with the threats to curb their use because of distractions. We have learned to cope with it and also use our iPhones for route planning while driving when we think about changing routes after starting out.
__________________

__________________
Davydd
2015 Advanced RV Ocean One Mercedes Benz Sprinter
Previous Class Bs:
2011 Great West Van Legend Sprinter
2005 Pleasure-way Plateau TS Sprinter
Davydd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×