Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-23-2019, 05:44 AM   #1

Angry Help! 1997 Dodge Roadtrek ball joint, arm discontinued?

Hello everyone,
I have had a 10 day stint that has nearly caused me a mental breakdown on top of my van breakdown. I have a 1997 Dodge Roadtrek and the front passenger arm broke. The disc (sorry I’m a newbie) the mechanic ordered was the wrong one. So he told me he found the right one, but that it’s been discontinued so I should feel lucky he found it but that it wouldn’t arrive for a week. I don’t have my dog, I’m not sure if I still have a job bc I’ve been waiting on this part and I live in my van and I was on a quick road trip when I broke down. Well after waiting a week on the second try of them ordering this part, he said the holes on the disc don’t match up? So what am I missing here? I find it hard to believe this part has been discontinued and is actually that hard to find. I’m also worried they’re gonna charge me labor on their **** ups of ordering the wrong parts, hoisting it up and realizing it’s not the right part. I will also state the Roadtrek was made in Canada and I’m currently in the USA. They made it sound like this was also an issue although I don’t understand how? Can somebody please help me. I need to get home and I’m scared I’m gonna get stuck with a giant bill due to their lack of effort.
shorti.pie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 12:04 PM   #2
Platinum Member

A couple of things:

Disc refers to rotor disc and is part of your brake system

Ball joint and control arm is part of your suspension system

Ball joint are mounted on the outboard end of the control arm and allow the wheel to turn left and right. Ball joints can be replaced without replacing the control arm. There is an upper and lower control arm and an upper and lower ball joint.