Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-29-2023, 10:53 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Black tank flushing?

Black tank flushing
I'm just starting out, just been using RV as a van, on over 4 trips to beach very comfortable cruising.

never slept in RV (initial trip did try it for a few hours then was eaten alive by noseeshum bitting flies) until last trip one night didn’t sleep much.
never even used the toilet for #2 just #1 for 2 days. came home thinking there's just gonna be a little piss lets empty on side yard, (I did add the stink reducer fuild into toilet).

wrong a 3' turd came out that's been in there since I bought the B-class in sep.that’s like 10 months.during this 10 months
I never smelt strong odors but did smell a hint of poop.
so how many gallons should I pour into toilet to flush black tank (BL tank is 11 gallons) out? not sure if RVing is for me.thanks for waste advice.
Old 06-29-2023, 11:44 PM   #2
Site Team

What is your goal?
If you plan to start using the toilet, then just start using it. When it is full, or when you are leaving the campground, just dump the tanks. There is really no need to routinely flush a black tank. Depending on the internal geometry of the drain, you may get a buildup of crud over time that needs aggressive cleaning. This happened once on our old Airstream Interstate, but never on our GWV Legend. It is good to keep a bit of water in the tank, but routine flushing will usually take care of that.

It is also not normal for a black tank toilet to smell (except perhaps a whiff during a flush). If there are persistent odors, you have a leak somewhere (most likely the seals on the flush valve) or possibly a plugged vent pipe. If you have such an issue, you can use chemicals to cover up the smell until you get it fixed. Otherwise, there is no need for chemicals.
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2023, 03:09 AM   #3