Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-06-2020, 05:12 PM   #1

Default Recommendations for stove top coffee percolator

HI
I am a newbie . Just got my first van - a vintage PW1999 . Spending the winter slowly getting her outfitted for spring travel . Wondering about recommendations for a stove top coffee percolator > for the 2 burner propane stove . Would not be using on a outfire set up . There are so many on the online stores - it hard to decide - just wondered what folks out there have been using to make a nice simple cup of coffee .
Thanks
Mayanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2020, 05:44 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Since you’re using the stovetop, have you considered a pour-over set-up? Easier cleanup and a superior cup of coffee IMO. Any cone holder will do, with filters to match. You need a fresh, fine grind, and we usually treat ourselves to a small bag of locally roasted beans when we head out on a trip, pre-ground to order for convenience.

We make ours into vacuum tumblers so it stays hot. Since I like mine quite a bit stronger than my wife, it’s easy to adjust each pour to taste.

We actually use an old SS percolator (minus the guts) to heat water. The tall, narrow profile fits a small RV burner better than a kettle, and it’s easier to control the pour.

We have kids, so the same hot water makes tea or cocoa for them.
Old 12-06-2020, 06:23 PM   #3
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mayanna View Post
HI
Wondering about recommendations for a stove top coffee percolator >.
I brought a really nice used Revere Ware percolator on Ebay. It is nice and has come in handy once in a while. But you have to be really careful, cause it is really easy to boil it over, so I seldom use it anymore!