Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-03-2022, 02:31 PM   #21
Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyCharlie View Post
Complete beginner here with brand new Coachmen Galleria. We live in KY which can have some cold weather, so I had our coach winterized by a local dealer. We keep it parked outside.
Should we do some winter camping and return with the chance of more cold weather, I know we’ll have to re-winterize.
However, if I can find indoor parking with a 30 amp hookup, could I keep the furnace at 50, turn on the tank heaters and not have it winterized?
If you leave the heat on, you'll need to leave 12V battery power on for the controls and tank heaters, and pass-through 120V power on for heating elements in the Truma. How much of a chance do you want to take that the power won't go out, and what is the potential for damage if it does? Is there a GFCI breaker on that 30A circuit?

I would winterize it. It takes me less than half an hour to do mine, and I could probably do it a lot faster if I wasn't doing the slow mosey by myself. Someone inside running faucets while I'm outside with the two gallons of antifreeze, could do it even faster, but I normally do it myself.

From my post above: "Mine is set up so I can winterize it with propylene glycol RV antifreeze in less than 30 minutes, with the pump sucking antifreeze from the jug using the outside water connection, but winters are cold here so I need to be able to do that on the road when returning home from warmer climes."
Old 01-03-2022, 02:53 PM   #22
Platinum Member

I rigged up a system for fast winterizing in my van. Where the pipe comes out of my freshwater tank and goes directly to my water pump, I spliced in a T fitting with a couple valves. I then have a 2 foot hose on one side of the T fitting which is right under our rear couch.