Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-14-2023, 02:58 AM   #1
Bronze Member

Default Replace Dometic RM 7401L with Isotherm Cruise 130 Elegance

2009 Roadtrek RS Adventurous replaced the Dometic RM 7401L 3-way refrigerator with a Isotherm Cruise 130 Elegance 12 volt compressor frig.

This is how we did it, I am not a RV professional, so you decide how it should be done.

The Dometic had a strong smell of ammonia so we assumed it was done. It was 10 years old, time for a replacement. The first thing I learned is that nothing was going to be a perfect fit. Not even another Dometic.

Since we have 300 AH of lithium batteries we decided to go with a 12 volt compressor frig for better tempature control.

An Isotherm Cruise 130 Elegance fits in the existing space left to right exactly. However it is a little shorter and deeper. When I say deeper, the box of the Isotherm extends as far as the gas burner extend on the old frig. The Isotherm has more space inside the frig.

Turned off propane, lit the stove to burn off the gas.
Removed the 12 volt fuse in the panel.
Removed the 4 screws that go thru the sides of the frig into the sidewalls.
Unplugged the 120 volt cord.
Removed door from the Dometic frig. Took everything out to lighten the load.
Disconnected the propane line at the back of the frig and capped the remaining line.
Pushed the old Dometic RM 7401L from the back (outside) to get it started and once the top was exposed removed the 10 gauge 12v supply wires from the terminal block on the top of the frig. Finished pulling the frig out of its compartment. Save the foam strip and reinstall it on the new frig.

We laid the bed down and laid cardboard on it. Pulled the old frig out the back.