Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-25-2023, 09:31 PM   #1

Default Storing your RV

Been doing my research and close to pulling the trigger on purchasing a new
Class B. A total newbie here, but thanks to this and another Class B forum, I am slowly working towards a B.S. in Responsibilities of Van Ownership.

One issue I have not seen addressed is storing your Van. I live in Bay Area, and
my house does not have a garage suitable for an RV, be it 20' or 22'. The temperature rarely goes below freezing even in the winter, but leaving the vehicle out in the elements year round has to create issues. I have plenty of driveway space and could buy a a simple canvas cover or some sort of slip cover for the van, but, just like our housing prices, renting interior RV storage space is a significant expense.

Does it make sense to purchase one of these great toys, only to leave it exposed year round?

Any info or suggestions would be welcomed

Thanks
Estoniankid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2023, 01:17 AM   #2
Platinum Member

I leave mine out year around in Minnesota weather. Class B's are like trucks, they're made to be left outside.

I suspect though, that the plastic vents up on the roof and perhaps the tires might degrade faster than if stored indoors or under cover.
Old 11-26-2023, 11:15 AM   #3
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Estoniankid View Post
Been doing my research and close to pulling the trigger on purchasing a new
Class B. A total newbie here, but thanks to this and another Class B forum, I am slowly working towards a B.S. in Responsibilities of Van Ownership.

One issue I have not seen addressed is storing your Van. I live in Bay Area, and