Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-26-2022, 01:44 PM   #1

Question 2003 Pleasure Way Excel TD question

Question as I am a noob to the RV/Van life.
Someone in my town is selling a 2003 PW Excel TD with only 26,000 miles. Carfax has 5 owners, current owner has had a year, owner poor had 7 months. I love the low miles obviously but being 20 years old and so low if its sat so long does that mean the engine could be not the best as I have no idea if previous owners started the engine every 4-6 weeks just to keep things lubricated. Seller is asking 48k I think thats rather high. Any thoughts?
kcdesertrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2022, 02:43 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Hi & Welcome,

if you suspect mileage tampering look at the rubber on the gas/brake pedals- it should be "brand new" almost at 26K.

look at tires ( new set $1000) DOT date codes

probably be ready for new batteries too- $250 at costco for chassis and coach ( RV) batteries

check the chassis vin ( likely a 2002 ford) and the RV vin 2003 PW

you could have the ford part checked by a good mechanic, either someone you know or the East Valley has Salem Boys Auto, Mark Salem had the "fix yer car " show on KTAR for years

the RV parts have checked by an rv person unless you are familiar with teh usual systems from dometic, suburban and onan.

RV's like motorcycles and boats are often purchases and left to sit as the bloom comes off the rose- Dad's "wonderful idea" can loose favor if the family has other interests.

like all vehicles in AZ get the title notarized and look carefully at title and seller's ID- if it is registered out of state, get the seller to go through the MVD inspection first- then buy it with an AZ title ( as a PW, not as a ford)
they can also clear any liens

I'm very happy with the quality of my PW on a chev.

Cheers, Mike
mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote