Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-01-2020, 11:03 PM   #1
Bronze Member

Default First a cracked gray tank, now a cracked black tank...

I'm new to this, but learning fast (unfortunately, not all of the lessons are pleasant). After years of idly dreaming of having a Class B, I bought a 1999 Roadtrek Versatile 190 a few weeks ago. Now I'm working my way through the effects of the previous owner's neglect.

My question is, are the holding tanks on these vans prone to frequent cracking?

My van arrived with a small crack (looked more like a cut, really) near the top of the gray tank. I pulled the gray tank off (not an easy task), patched it, and put it back on. Then I filled both holding tanks, didn't see any leaks, and figured I was good. Took the van out for a weekend trip, and was met with the nice surprise of a leaking black tank when I went to dump it.

I was adding water through the toilet before dumping and the tank seemed to be taking forever to fill. Then I looked under the van and saw water and toilet paper pouring down from the tank (crack must be big). So, I'm going to have to pull the gray tank off again just to get to the black tank. Then I may have to drop the black tank as well, depending on where the crack is.

Is this normal/to be expected? I realize it's 20 year old plastic, but there seem to be plenty of people driving older RT's so I can't imagine they're all that brittle. And as far as I know the tanks were custom made by RT, so I can't just go buy a replacement. Did I abuse it by driving on a couple of dirt roads?
JDBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 01:23 AM   #2
Platinum Member

I would say no. Mine are 17 years old with no failures. I even hit one once. Over time it straightened back out and all was well.