Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2011, 06:12 PM   #1
Platinum Member
 
markopolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 7,814
Default Scan Gauge

Cool toy.

Anyone else have one?

I wonder what it would have shown when running the Roadtrek at 140kph in Los Angeles? I wouldn't try that in the Class C for sure.

I think the Chevy was speed limited because of the tire specification. The motor would "pause" at that speed and then 'resume" when we slowed down. At 85 mph cars were passing us. A Mustang blew by as is we were parked.

Next time I'll avoid that route and do the scenic route!
__________________

__________________
Two bikes on sliding cargo box: https://www.classbforum.com/forums/m...icture206.html & 1997 GMC Savana 6.5L Turbo Diesel Custom Camper Van Specifications: https://www.classbforum.com/forums/f...vana-5864.html
markopolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 06:18 PM   #2
Platinum Member
 
Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 364
Default Re: Scan Gauge

We use a Scan Gage II.

It is a very useful tool, for monitoring current MPG, voltage, water temps, etc.

It helps us get 2-5 more mpg, than if I just try to drive "easy".
__________________

__________________
Brian
2009 Roadtrek 190V, 5" lift - Build Thread
2004 Toyota 4Runner
2014 Honda CR-V
1965 Dodge Coronet 440
Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 03:35 PM   #3
Platinum Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by markopolo
Cool toy.

Anyone else have one?

I wonder what it would have shown when running the Roadtrek at 140kph in Los Angeles? I wouldn't try that in the Class C for sure.

I think the Chevy was speed limited because of the tire specification. The motor would "pause" at that speed and then 'resume" when we slowed down. At 85 mph cars were passing us. A Mustang blew by as is we were parked.

Next time I'll avoid that route and do the scenic route!
I've been looking online and it looks like there aren't many retail outlets in Canada that sell them.
I see Autozone and CW have them in the States. Mark you got one a few years ago, didn't you?
The Scan Gauge II is around $160us at CW and AutoZone and I think I'll have a look next time we're
in the States. Our cars are getting older, and it would be nice to be able to trouble shoot engine codes
when they occasionally pop up. They do that, don't they?
btw, my wife will not allow us to enter the greater Los Angeles area any more, due to the crazies out there
on the roads and freeways. We even got passed like we were parked around Sacramento last September on I-5/I-80.
It's like everyone is late for everything there.
__________________
It's not a sprint(er) (unless you make it one), it's (hopefully) a marathon.
RV - 2018 Navion 24V + 2016 Wrangler JKU
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 06:17 PM   #4
Platinum Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Are these Scangauge's onboard software levels upgradable via a USB cable and the internet?
I see some Canadian Tire stores carry a thing called "ScanTools" which look similar,
are priced outrageously, but some have upgardable software support, according to
what I read online.
Anyone know much about how often they can be updated, like a Garmin nuvi and so on?
Would be nice to know what the deal is, before I buy one.
__________________
It's not a sprint(er) (unless you make it one), it's (hopefully) a marathon.
RV - 2018 Navion 24V + 2016 Wrangler JKU
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 08:35 PM   #5
Platinum Member
 
Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 364
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Their website has info on software updates.
http://www.scangauge.com/support/upgrade.shtml
__________________
Brian
2009 Roadtrek 190V, 5" lift - Build Thread
2004 Toyota 4Runner
2014 Honda CR-V
1965 Dodge Coronet 440
Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:44 AM   #6
Platinum Member
 
Davydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,497
Default Re: Scan Gauge

I haven't had time to explore it much but I believe our new Sprinter electronic display options essentially has a built in scan gauge capability. It continuously monitors your fuel range. That I know and that range changes with acceleration, going up hill, changing speed, etc. There's some other stuff too but like I said, I haven't had time to explore.
__________________
Davydd
2015 Advanced RV Ocean One Mercedes Benz Sprinter
Previous Class Bs:
2011 Great West Van Legend Sprinter
2005 Pleasure-way Plateau TS Sprinter
Davydd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 02:32 AM   #7
Platinum Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photog
Their website has info on software updates.
http://www.scangauge.com/support/upgrade.shtml
Sounds like you had to mail in your unit and they upgrade it and mail it back.
Wouldn't be my first choice for ease of upgrading.
It is an old (2007) issue it would appear.
I was hoping they'd have a free download system online if there were significant fixes
or changes available to make the thing work better. Like a GPS or your laptop
OS etc.
__________________
It's not a sprint(er) (unless you make it one), it's (hopefully) a marathon.
RV - 2018 Navion 24V + 2016 Wrangler JKU
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 08:50 PM   #8
Platinum Member
 
Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 364
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Mike,
If you buy one today, or a used one that is newer than 2007, you will not have to worry about an update. Most of the recent updates have been to add new vehicles, not change the functionality of the equipment.

Good news, eh
__________________
Brian
2009 Roadtrek 190V, 5" lift - Build Thread
2004 Toyota 4Runner
2014 Honda CR-V
1965 Dodge Coronet 440
Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 11:43 PM   #9
Platinum Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Yup. I'll be swinging by AutoZone next time I'm in the sunny south.
__________________
It's not a sprint(er) (unless you make it one), it's (hopefully) a marathon.
RV - 2018 Navion 24V + 2016 Wrangler JKU
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 01:44 PM   #10
Platinum Member
 
gordonhks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Gulf Coast of Florida
Posts: 126
Default Re: Scan Gauge

I had a scan gauge that was used with a Mazda MX5 Miata. It had very basic gauges, so the scan gauge helped. I sold the Mazda a few years back. I had forgotten that I owned one. After looking at this post, i rooted around and found it in the garage. Hooked it up last week to the 2006 Sprinter based road Trek. The hardest part was crawling around looking for the ODB port. Found it, hooked up the scan gauge and it works great. Davydd, the scan gauge gives you the same type of information that you get from the onboard computers with most luxury cars. The 06 Sprinters had pretty primitive and limited gauges. The new Sprinters must have better on board computer displays.
__________________

__________________
Gordon H
2013 Great West Van Legend SE
gordonhks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.