Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2011, 06:12 PM   #1
Platinum Member
 
markopolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 8,224
Default Scan Gauge

Cool toy.

Anyone else have one?

I wonder what it would have shown when running the Roadtrek at 140kph in Los Angeles? I wouldn't try that in the Class C for sure.

I think the Chevy was speed limited because of the tire specification. The motor would "pause" at that speed and then 'resume" when we slowed down. At 85 mph cars were passing us. A Mustang blew by as is we were parked.

Next time I'll avoid that route and do the scenic route!
__________________

__________________
Two bikes on sliding cargo box: https://www.classbforum.com/forums/m...icture206.html & 1997 GMC Savana 6.5L Turbo Diesel Custom Camper Van Specifications: https://www.classbforum.com/forums/f...vana-5864.html
markopolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 06:18 PM   #2
Platinum Member
 
Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 364
Default Re: Scan Gauge

We use a Scan Gage II.

It is a very useful tool, for monitoring current MPG, voltage, water temps, etc.

It helps us get 2-5 more mpg, than if I just try to drive "easy".
__________________

__________________
Brian
2009 Roadtrek 190V, 5" lift - Build Thread
2004 Toyota 4Runner
2014 Honda CR-V
1965 Dodge Coronet 440
Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 03:35 PM   #3
Platinum Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by markopolo
Cool toy.

Anyone else have one?

I wonder what it would have shown when running the Roadtrek at 140kph in Los Angeles? I wouldn't try that in the Class C for sure.

I think the Chevy was speed limited because of the tire specification. The motor would "pause" at that speed and then 'resume" when we slowed down. At 85 mph cars were passing us. A Mustang blew by as is we were parked.

Next time I'll avoid that route and do the scenic route!
I've been looking online and it looks like there aren't many retail outlets in Canada that sell them.
I see Autozone and CW have them in the States. Mark you got one a few years ago, didn't you?
The Scan Gauge II is around $160us at CW and AutoZone and I think I'll have a look next time we're
in the States. Our cars are getting older, and it would be nice to be able to trouble shoot engine codes
when they occasionally pop up. They do that, don't they?
btw, my wife will not allow us to enter the greater Los Angeles area any more, due to the crazies out there
on the roads and freeways. We even got passed like we were parked around Sacramento last September on I-5/I-80.
It's like everyone is late for everything there.
__________________
It's not a sprint(er) (unless you make it one), it's (hopefully) a marathon.
RV - 2018 Navion 24V + 2016 Wrangler JKU
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 06:17 PM   #4
Platinum Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Are these Scangauge's onboard software levels upgradable via a USB cable and the internet?
I see some Canadian Tire stores carry a thing called "ScanTools" which look similar,
are priced outrageously, but some have upgardable software support, according to
what I read online.
Anyone know much about how often they can be updated, like a Garmin nuvi and so on?
Would be nice to know what the deal is, before I buy one.
__________________
It's not a sprint(er) (unless you make it one), it's (hopefully) a marathon.
RV - 2018 Navion 24V + 2016 Wrangler JKU
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 08:35 PM   #5
Platinum Member
 
Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 364
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Their website has info on software updates.
http://www.scangauge.com/support/upgrade.shtml
__________________
Brian
2009 Roadtrek 190V, 5" lift - Build Thread
2004 Toyota 4Runner
2014 Honda CR-V
1965 Dodge Coronet 440
Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:44 AM   #6
Platinum Member
 
Davydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,838
Default Re: Scan Gauge

I haven't had time to explore it much but I believe our new Sprinter electronic display options essentially has a built in scan gauge capability. It continuously monitors your fuel range. That I know and that range changes with acceleration, going up hill, changing speed, etc. There's some other stuff too but like I said, I haven't had time to explore.
__________________
Davydd
2015 Advanced RV Ocean One Mercedes Benz Sprinter
Previous Class Bs:
2011 Great West Van Legend Sprinter
2005 Pleasure-way Plateau TS Sprinter
Davydd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 02:32 AM   #7
Platinum Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photog
Their website has info on software updates.
http://www.scangauge.com/support/upgrade.shtml
Sounds like you had to mail in your unit and they upgrade it and mail it back.
Wouldn't be my first choice for ease of upgrading.
It is an old (2007) issue it would appear.
I was hoping they'd have a free download system online if there were significant fixes
or changes available to make the thing work better. Like a GPS or your laptop
OS etc.
__________________
It's not a sprint(er) (unless you make it one), it's (hopefully) a marathon.
RV - 2018 Navion 24V + 2016 Wrangler JKU
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 08:50 PM   #8
Platinum Member
 
Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 364
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Mike,
If you buy one today, or a used one that is newer than 2007, you will not have to worry about an update. Most of the recent updates have been to add new vehicles, not change the functionality of the equipment.

Good news, eh
__________________
Brian
2009 Roadtrek 190V, 5" lift - Build Thread
2004 Toyota 4Runner
2014 Honda CR-V
1965 Dodge Coronet 440
Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 11:43 PM   #9
Platinum Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Yup. I'll be swinging by AutoZone next time I'm in the sunny south.
__________________
It's not a sprint(er) (unless you make it one), it's (hopefully) a marathon.
RV - 2018 Navion 24V + 2016 Wrangler JKU
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 01:44 PM   #10
Platinum Member
 
gordonhks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Gulf Coast of Florida
Posts: 126
Default Re: Scan Gauge

I had a scan gauge that was used with a Mazda MX5 Miata. It had very basic gauges, so the scan gauge helped. I sold the Mazda a few years back. I had forgotten that I owned one. After looking at this post, i rooted around and found it in the garage. Hooked it up last week to the 2006 Sprinter based road Trek. The hardest part was crawling around looking for the ODB port. Found it, hooked up the scan gauge and it works great. Davydd, the scan gauge gives you the same type of information that you get from the onboard computers with most luxury cars. The 06 Sprinters had pretty primitive and limited gauges. The new Sprinters must have better on board computer displays.
__________________
Gordon H
2013 Great West Van Legend SE
gordonhks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 02:44 PM   #11
Platinum Member
 
Davydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,838
Default Re: Scan Gauge

The on board computer is pretty nice with the new Sprinters. It does give you how many miles you can go with current fuel, constant readout in MPG based on your current driving, etc. Our GWV Legend came with the optional steering wheel control buttons so I can thumb flick through all the gauges and readings. Still haven't hit the road yet so won't know more intimately until I do.
__________________
Davydd
2015 Advanced RV Ocean One Mercedes Benz Sprinter
Previous Class Bs:
2011 Great West Van Legend Sprinter
2005 Pleasure-way Plateau TS Sprinter
Davydd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 02:18 AM   #12
Platinum Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Picked up a Scan Gauge II in SC at CW for $185 all in.
Will post up any interesting tidbits of info if I ever get it hooked up and working.
Just got back from 12 days out, south to warmth, then back.
To snow on the ground, and mid-teen temps overnight.
It is Spring, isn't it???
Should have stayed in SC or FL or TX.
__________________
It's not a sprint(er) (unless you make it one), it's (hopefully) a marathon.
RV - 2018 Navion 24V + 2016 Wrangler JKU
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 07:47 PM   #13
Platinum Member
 
Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 364
Default Re: Scan Gauge

There are ways to get the gauge to show more info, using the X-Gauge, I was able to get e Tranny Temp to display. I have a gas engine, and therefore should not have an Allison tranny; but those are the setting I had to use, to see the fluid temperature.
__________________
Brian
2009 Roadtrek 190V, 5" lift - Build Thread
2004 Toyota 4Runner
2014 Honda CR-V
1965 Dodge Coronet 440
Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 01:13 AM   #14
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,433
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photog
There are ways to get the gauge to show more info, using the X-Gauge, I was able to get e Tranny Temp to display. I have a gas engine, and therefore should not have an Allison tranny; but those are the setting I had to use, to see the fluid temperature.
That's interesting. We have an 07 C190P Roadtrek on the Chevy, and the tranny gauge codes worked first time in, with the engine set to 6.0 litre. i don't think we even had to set a transmission type in the setup. Scangauge sent me a code for oil temp to test, but that did not work, unfortunately.

Now that we have the Scangauge dialed in, we never worry about getting the tank completely full and run all the gas calc off the Scangauge. We tested for a long time, and on average for a trip, it was always within .5% of what we got the old fashioned way. A very useful tool.

The only thing that we found was that to get the unit really accurate, we had to let use the speed correction to correct the odometer reading. Scangauge says they are separate, but ours didn't appear to work that way. With a 0% correction on the speed, which is actually 2% off, we get the right odometer reading, and thus the right fuel use calculation. I suppose we could have made that same correction in the fuel compensation, but then the odometer would have been off. We found no way to get the odometer and speed both correct at the same time.
booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 04:21 AM   #15
Platinum Member
 
Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 364
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by booster
That's interesting. We have an 07 C190P Roadtrek on the Chevy, and the tranny gauge codes worked first time in, with the engine set to 6.0 litre. i don't think we even had to set a transmission type in the setup. Scangauge sent me a code for oil temp to test, but that did not work, unfortunately........
Hmmm. I will check my settings. I'm sure I reset the engine size, when I moved it from our Toyota 4Runner to the '08 190V Roadtrek. It is a 2008 Chevy van, that R/T turned into an RV, in 2009.

If you have an opportunity sometime, could you write down the X-Gauge settings you used for the tranny temps. I am now dubious of the reading I may be getting.
__________________
Brian
2009 Roadtrek 190V, 5" lift - Build Thread
2004 Toyota 4Runner
2014 Honda CR-V
1965 Dodge Coronet 440
Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 02:53 PM   #16
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,433
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photog
Quote:
Originally Posted by booster
That's interesting. We have an 07 C190P Roadtrek on the Chevy, and the tranny gauge codes worked first time in, with the engine set to 6.0 litre. i don't think we even had to set a transmission type in the setup. Scangauge sent me a code for oil temp to test, but that did not work, unfortunately........
Hmmm. I will check my settings. I'm sure I reset the engine size, when I moved it from our Toyota 4Runner to the '08 190V Roadtrek. It is a 2008 Chevy van, that R/T turned into an RV, in 2009.

If you have an opportunity sometime, could you write down the X-Gauge settings you used for the tranny temps. I am now dubious of the reading I may be getting.
Here we go, but the chance of a typo are kind of big-lots of numbers

TXD 6C10F122194001

RXF 046205190640

RXD 3008

MTH 00090005FFD8

NAM TFT

Here is a link to the Scanguage code list

http://www.scangauge.com/support/pdfs/XGAUGE.pdf
booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 11:54 PM   #17
Platinum Member
 
Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 364
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by booster
Here we go, but the chance of a typo are kind of big-lots of numbers

TXD 6C10F122194001

RXF 046205190640

RXD 3008

MTH 00090005FFD8

NAM TFT

Here is a link to the Scanguage code list

http://www.scangauge.com/support/pdfs/XGAUGE.pdf
I tried your set of numbers. My TFT showed no info (blank), with those numbers.
Your numbers come from the "GM VPW" group.

The only way I can get any info at all, is to use the settings from the "GM CANSF" group.
Then I get a steady "32" using the non-Allison settings, and a more realistic number with the Allison settings.

I checked the Mode setting. It is set to CANSF. This is probably why your VPW settings didn't work for me. Also, this is a setting that is done automatically, after hooking up the Scan Gauge II, and starting the engine.

In the "Mode" settings, I can choose VPW or CANSF (and a few others). I can't seem to determine why I would want to choose one over the other. Any ideas?
__________________
Brian
2009 Roadtrek 190V, 5" lift - Build Thread
2004 Toyota 4Runner
2014 Honda CR-V
1965 Dodge Coronet 440
Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 01:15 AM   #18
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,433
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photog
Quote:
Originally Posted by booster
Here we go, but the chance of a typo are kind of big-lots of numbers

TXD 6C10F122194001

RXF 046205190640

RXD 3008

MTH 00090005FFD8

NAM TFT

Here is a link to the Scanguage code list

http://www.scangauge.com/support/pdfs/XGAUGE.pdf
I tried your set of numbers. My TFT showed no info (blank), with those numbers.
Your numbers come from the "GM VPW" group.

The only way I can get any info at all, is to use the settings from the "GM CANSF" group.
Then I get a steady "32" using the non-Allison settings, and a more realistic number with the Allison settings.

I checked the Mode setting. It is set to CANSF. This is probably why your VPW settings didn't work for me. Also, this is a setting that is done automatically, after hooking up the Scan Gauge II, and starting the engine.

In the "Mode" settings, I can choose VPW or CANSF (and a few others). I can't seem to determine why I would want to choose one over the other. Any ideas?
It appears things changed in 08. Probably best to call Scangauge and ask them. I read on some GM truck boards that you can change certain digits so the Scangauge looks at the TCM instead of the PCM and that is probably why the Allison codes give a reading. The Allison programming would all be in the TCM, but GM put it all in the ECM. So what you need to do is send it to the TCM and then have the right codes for GM other than Allison.
booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 01:46 AM   #19
Platinum Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike
Yup. I'll be swinging by AutoZone next time I'm in the sunny south.
Just an aside to all the fun with Scangauge stuff.
I went to at least 3 AutoZone stores in the Gulf States and one in Texas, and no one had
heard of them. The Scangauge website lists them as a distributor, but says you should
as for part #SG2, which I didn't know. They did all have some other brands of OBD II
compatible auto analysis boxes. One was only $60 but I was looking for the ScanGauge II,
and nothing but, would do.
__________________
It's not a sprint(er) (unless you make it one), it's (hopefully) a marathon.
RV - 2018 Navion 24V + 2016 Wrangler JKU
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 07:22 PM   #20
Platinum Member
 
Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 364
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Mike,
You should be able to get them closer to home. You might contact the local Rice-Burner car club, and see if they have any leads on Scan Gauges. Many people use them in their econo-box cars, to maximize their MPG. Not just for motor homes.
__________________

__________________
Brian
2009 Roadtrek 190V, 5" lift - Build Thread
2004 Toyota 4Runner
2014 Honda CR-V
1965 Dodge Coronet 440
Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×