Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2015, 12:03 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 7
Default Newbie ? for Dry Camping

Hi Everyone,


Just purchased a Travato 59G (2016). Took "Silver" on an overnight where I had to dry camp.

I had left the fridge on battery overnight, which I now realized was my first mistake -- should have switched over to propane. I had the generator running and plugged in the 1cup Keurig to make coffee. Things went downhill from there.

So.....now I cannot use the GFIC outlet. The AC and Microwave will not turn on.

I had to turn the engine on to start the Generator.

We are at home now and she is plugged in. I will be calling the dealer at 9:00 when service dept opens.

I had checked the circuit breakers and all fuses test fine.

I realize I should have shut off the AC when I was using the coffee maker. but hope I didn't totally ruin everything.

If anyone can offer me a checklist to use when I dry camp for the future I would appreciate it.

Thank you.

Barb Brown
__________________

mermaidbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 12:20 PM   #2
Platinum Member
 
eric1514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: ID AZ
Posts: 621
Default

I'm almost positive you didn't ruin anything, but I'm confused when you say you can't use the GFI outlet. Did it trip? Did you reset it? You do know, that it won't reset unless there is power to it and that it controls several other outlets, right?
__________________

__________________
"Il Travato Rosso"
2015 Travato 59g
eric1514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 12:27 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 7
Default

Hi Eric

I've hit the reset button on the GFI outlet; plugged in coffee maker to test the outlet and not working. Is there something else I can do.

What about the test button? Should I push that in as well?
mermaidbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 12:41 PM   #4
Platinum Member
 
eric1514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: ID AZ
Posts: 621
Default

If your GFI is properly reset, the test button should trip it with a loud click. Go ahead, no harm in trying.

Take each breaker and flip it to off and then to on. Don't be overly gentle with them. Snap them off completely and then back on with some authority.

Check back.
__________________
"Il Travato Rosso"
2015 Travato 59g
eric1514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 12:55 PM   #5
Platinum Member
 
eric1514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: ID AZ
Posts: 621
Default

Are you sure you're getting power to the RV? There should be a small blue LED that lights up on the hatch door where you connect the power cord. If it's not lit, you tripped a breaker in your house.
__________________
"Il Travato Rosso"
2015 Travato 59g
eric1514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 02:05 PM   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 7
Default

okay, let me go check right now!


Thanks!
mermaidbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 02:24 PM   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 7
Default

Yay!!!!!!! outlets were tripped in garage. Thank you, thank you, thank you. You just saved me a 2 hour trip one way to dealership.....
mermaidbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 02:27 PM   #8
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: California
Posts: 30
Default

The dealer will probably ask you to bring it in, and it could be several weeks before they can see you. I would call Winnebago and talk to their technical support department. They are really good at helping over the phone.
__________________
2015 Pleasure-Way Promaster Lexor TS
TJ Jeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 02:29 PM   #9
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 7
Default

Thank you.
mermaidbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 02:31 PM   #10
Site Team
 
avanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3,354
Default

Great! Don't know if you tested your genset yet, but be aware that there is an obscure circuit breaker on the genset itself (behind an access panel). Given your scenario, there is a fair chance that it is blown as well. The symptom would be that the generator starts fine, but no power makes it to the outlets. If you have this problem, crawl under the rig with a screwdriver, remove the panel, find the breaker and flip it on.
__________________
Formerly: 2005 Airstream Interstate (Sprinter 2500 T1N)
Now!: 2014 Great West Vans Legend SE (Sprinter 3500 NCV3 I4)
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 02:46 PM   #11
Platinum Member
 
eric1514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: ID AZ
Posts: 621
Default

Forgetting to turn your fridge to propane from battery when you stop is not just a rookie mistake. I tended to forget also which is why I never use the 12v setting and travel with the propane on.

Unfortunately, the fridge in the 59g will blow out on the highway so I made a baffle. You can read about it here.

Refrigerator Baffle

Eric
__________________
"Il Travato Rosso"
2015 Travato 59g
eric1514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 01:37 PM   #12
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eric1514 View Post
Forgetting to turn your fridge to propane from battery when you stop is not just a rookie mistake. I tended to forget also which is why I never use the 12v setting and travel with the propane on.

Unfortunately, the fridge in the 59g will blow out on the highway so I made a baffle. You can read about it here.

Refrigerator Baffle

Eric
What am I missing here, can't you just leave your fridge on battery overnight? Is it because the fridges are different between the 59G and %59K?
Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 02:01 PM   #13
Platinum Member
 
eric1514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: ID AZ
Posts: 621
Default

The 59g uses a 3-way (propane,12v,120v) absorption fridge. The 59k uses a 2-way (12v,120v) compressor style fridge.
__________________
"Il Travato Rosso"
2015 Travato 59g
eric1514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 05:12 PM   #14
Platinum Member
 
Davydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,572
Default

A compressor style fridge on 12v uses about a third of the energy of a 3-way absorption fridge running on 12v.
__________________
Davydd
2015 Advanced RV Ocean One Mercedes Benz Sprinter
Previous Class Bs:
2011 Great West Van Legend Sprinter
2005 Pleasure-way Plateau TS Sprinter
Davydd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 03:28 PM   #15
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 7
Default

Hi again,

So I've let Silver hang out being plugged in for a couple of days -- microwave, air conditioner work fine on shore power. I tested the propane for the fridge and cooktop and that's all fine.

I unplugged her this am, and am running the generator. Microwave and AC will not turn on when generator is running. I heard that there is a circuit breaker on the actual generator. So I'm guessing I have to get under there and unscrew the front plate covering the generator and flip a switch? Just want to confirm this before I actually do it.

I won't try this until later today after the generator is cool again.
mermaidbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 03:41 PM   #16
Platinum Member
 
eric1514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: ID AZ
Posts: 621
Default

That's my understanding, although I've never actually seen that breaker.

Also, When you first turn on the generator, you need to wait about 20 secs before you try any 120v appliances. You will hear the transfer switch under the dinette seat click or the microwave beep telling you that the power source has been transferred from shore to generator.

Eric
__________________
"Il Travato Rosso"
2015 Travato 59g
eric1514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 09:56 PM   #17
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 7
Default

Ok......Went under "Silver" and took off faceplate. I can see the arrow and the word circuit breaker, but I can't for the life of me, find it to switch it on and off.


HELP!!!!!


Barb
mermaidbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:16 PM   #18
Platinum Member
 
eric1514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: ID AZ
Posts: 621
Default

Pull off the hatch. You will see a start switch. Below that is the circuit breaker. You need to make a hook with your index finger and pull up the little nubbin of a switch. It moves very easily and when you accidentally hit the start button with the rest of your hand, you will scare the ___t out of yourself, but nothing bad will happen.

Keep trying.
__________________
"Il Travato Rosso"
2015 Travato 59g
eric1514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:50 PM   #19
Site Team
 
avanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3,354
Default

Yeah. Stupidest design I've ever seen.
__________________

__________________
Formerly: 2005 Airstream Interstate (Sprinter 2500 T1N)
Now!: 2014 Great West Vans Legend SE (Sprinter 3500 NCV3 I4)
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×