Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-13-2020, 09:39 PM   #1
Gold Member

Default ‘97 RT 200 vent stack cover?

Looking at 2 vent stacks on the roof. Is there supposed to be a cap/cover of some kind on there?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ACD8083A-DA67-4097-8B00-5F69F8AECFFA.jpg (154.0 KB, 10 views)
KaptainK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 07:04 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Yes, the cap keeps rain and other debris from blocking the air vent to your gray and black tanks. Best replacement for the cap is one of the 360* types that draws odors away from the tanks. Check with a flashlight to make sure that the pipe is clear of any thing that may block air flow.

MLogan
Smyrna, TN
mloganusda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 07:20 PM   #3
Site Team

I am no expert, but I am skeptical that such caps have much value. They are neither required nor commonly found on home sewer vents. I don't see where RVs are substantively different. I suppose there is a tiny risk of the odd acorn, but I think that is a risk I might be prepared to take. Certainly water entry into a waste water tank is a non-issue.

As for a cap that "draws away odors", there is no reason to want this unless there is a leak in the plumbing. Better to fix the leak.
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 07:27 PM   #4
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by avanti View Post
I am no expert, but I am skeptical that such caps have much value. They are neither required nor commonly found on home sewer vents. I don't see where RVs are substantively different. I suppose there is a tiny risk of the odd acorn, but I think that is a risk I might be prepared to take. Certainly water entry into a waste water tank is a non-issue.

As for a cap that "draws away odors", there is no reason to want this unless there is a leak in the plumbing. Better to fix the leak.