Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-21-2023, 03:33 PM   #1

Default Refrigerator Won't Work on AC

Greetings! I'm new to the RV Class B (RVs in General). We have a 2018 MB Pleasure Way Plateau Sprinter van. The first time we camped and plugged in to shore power using the standard 30-amp connection, everything worked great. Digging through all the stuff that came with the van I found an adapter to plug the van in to a non-30 amp/normal wall jack that I think I can use to cool the fridge (and only the fridge) prior to travel. However, when I connect the van to the house via the adapter, I get power to the van but the fridge will not run on AC and when turned on it trips house GFI.

Can the adapter be used to plug the van into a non-30 amp circuit if I'm only cooling the fridge? It makes perfect sense in prep for travel, but not sure it's designed to work this way since it's not working?

Thanks!
FloRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2023, 11:08 PM   #2
Platinum Member

I have no knowledge of how or why a MB Pleasureway might work differently but I do know that I plug my 2007 Roadtrek into a 20 amp house circuit and have since we bought it in 2006. I run the refrigerator and the KoolKat AC without problems on the house circuit.

Years ago I bought a 25 foot 12 gauge extension cord, cut off the receptacle end of it and replaced it with an RV plug. I use that cord to plug into the house when I just want to charge my coach batteries and/or run the refrigerator on AC. No problems. That way, I don't have to get out the big heavy 30 AMP rv cord and use an adaptor for the house.

I am sure a lot of people would say don't do that but it has worked for me for seventeen years with no problems.
Doneworking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2023, 01:04 AM   #3
Platinum Member