Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-01-2022, 09:09 PM   #1
Bronze Member

Default 2007 190P lithium upgrade

Hello everyone, After much reading and checking out wiring in my 2007 190P chevy Roadtrek, I have decided to upgrade to 2 100HR Lithium batteries. Thanks to all the knowledgable people that have posted about their upgrades. I am attaching a very rough sketch of a wiring diagram i made for this installation. My new batteries will be installed in the existing battery storage compartments on the outside of the vehicle. I will be using Renogy 100AH auto heating smart batteries, along with the renogy 2000W pure sine way inverter/charger and 40A DC/DC charger. I worked in the electrical field all my life, but DC is a foreign language to me.
My number one question right now is regarding the negative wires from both DC/DC charger and inverter charger. Wiring diagrams I have seen show a separate negative cable run between the battery and the chargers. From the best I can tell right now, my triplite I/C has the negative grounded to the frame. Is there any reason I can not do this for both of the new chargers or do I need to run a cable to the battery?

My drawing shows an Isolator from the alternator /Van battery. I have read a number of you saying that you have installed a cut off between the alt/battery and the DC/DC charger so if alternator can not keep up with the load it can be disconnected. Is there any reason I can't keep the isolator in circuit and run a separate switch wire to the coil of the isolator to operate it.?

Also wiring sizing from In/Charger to batteries. several sites said I need a 3/0 cable, and some say 2/0 will work over the same distance. It is roughly 8-10 between batteries and IN/CH. Instructions say 2/0 but they don't mention distances. Dollar wise and Physical size wise i am hoping to stay with 2/0.