Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-20-2021, 05:28 PM   #1

Default No idea what I’m doing

Hi guys so I’m real new to the RV world. I just recently got a 1988 dodge Xplorer that’s been passed down from my grandparents. It’s only got 92k miles and all thing considered is in really good condition. I’m a mechanic so most of this stuff is simple but a few things that I’m ashamed I can’t figured out lol. I’m looking for the location of the propane tank. I’m also looking for any advice or tips in general or specific to these machines. I don’t know much so anything is helpful! Thank you!
writtenaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2021, 12:08 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Welcome to the forum!

As a mechanic, you'll have no problem keeping the Dodge running. Like every vehicle (especially one this old), they need service a maybe a steering box upgrade. But overall the old Dodges seem to run forever as witnessed by the many on this forum. A lot of recent owners of older Xplorers have joined this forum lately.

As far as your question, one of those owners will be along soon to answer your question. In the meantime, it would be a good idea to drive it onto some sturdy wood blocks and take a peak around underneath. You will learn worlds of helpful information on what's what, what's where, and what condition things are in.

Good luck.

Ps. - Get some new shocks on it and new tires if their age and/or their condition warrants.
rowiebowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2021, 12:37 AM   #3

So far it seems to run great. I’ll definitely be bringing it to the shop to see what the underside looks like. I appreciate it!
writtenaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2021, 04:11 AM   #4
Platinum Member

Dodge vans are known to wear out steering boxes, resulting in 'death wobble.'