Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-14-2020, 06:38 PM   #1

Default Rear springs weak on 97 Dodge 3500 LTV

Newbie here, lurked a lot however. I bought this 97 Dodge 3500 LTV over a year ago, 130,000 miles, however spent lots of $ in rebuilding the whole front end, all new brakes and new fuel pump. Also put a steering gearbox stabilizer on. However have not had a chance to use it much because of medical issues.

The issue I have is the rear of this van sits so low that without inflating the air bags to 80# it will drag the rear (fiberglass exterior) bumper when going off the road & up a slight incline. A issue I see is that IF i had a flat on the rear, is that I could not even get under enough to put a jack under the axle (not enough crawl space even when normally parked). And a bumper jack is not possible because of the FG bumper cover.

This rig has no overload springs at all, just an airbag. I have taken it to a good RV repair shop locally and they recommended helper springs, BUT no manufacturer makes one for this model any more.

Have recently taken it to a good RV/truck alignment shop & they are thinking to have the original springs re-arched along with more leaves to help as overloads.

I measured & it appears I need to raise the rear 3 1/2".

Has anyone else ran into this issue?
The Machinist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 07:17 PM   #2
Gold Member

Actually, my 1997 Dodge Roadtrek 190 doesn't seem to have this issue at all. The rear suspension consists only of the original leaf springs, and carry the full load of the RV and full tanks, etc., very well. Perhaps you could look into getting the same springs that Roadtrek used. I know that the front axle that Roadtrek installed is extra heavy duty, and not the stock axle for the Ram 3500, so the same probably is true for the rear axle of the Roadtrek.
Old 02-14-2020, 10:19 PM   #3
Platinum Member