Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-31-2018, 05:51 PM   #1

Default American Cruiser use in Winter

Hi All,

I am looking to use a Class B in winter (New England) with a working shower. I am new to Class B but I have already discovered that my options may be limited. Budget also has me looking around the 20k which limits my options to older used models.

I am considering a 1999 American Cruiser, it claims to have "Four season internal water system". Does anyone have experience with below freezing temps with an American Cruiser? Any thoughts on how cold I could go without freezing up?

Thank You,

Tom
skibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 06:07 PM   #2
BBQ
Platinum Member

An RV is no different than your brick and mortar home -- during the winter months, it requires a constant input of energy to be habitable. ie. you need to heat it, heat it, and heat it.

Otherwise, the pipes will burst.

What do you want the RV for?
Fulltime living?
Weekend winter camping trips?
Ski trips?

Old 07-31-2018, 08:11 PM   #3

My hope is to spend several weeks at a time in the van during spring in the mountains, so probably late March, this is after the coldest part of the winter but still can hit some cold snaps, maybe down to 15F. I will spend a few days off grid at a time with some electrical hookup on other days. I assume that I will need to constantly heat the van with a combination of LP and the generator. Perhaps need to full up on LP every 3 or 4 days (not sure). My real question is - Is the American Cruiser better at handling cold weather than a typical class B and does anyone have first-hand experience?
skibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 04:21 PM   #4

SkiBum,